Rush Clockwork Angels Tracklist, Trailer and Official Announcement Now Available

Rush Clockwork Angels Album Cover
Update (2:10pm EST): A new publicity photo of Rush has now been posted along with the Marketwire Press Release for the new album. Thanks RIAB!
Update (1:20pm EST): Check out this article from Prog Magazine - Rush New Album Exclusive. From the article: "...on one song, The Wreckers, Lee and Lifeson swapped over instruments during the writing sessions..."
Update (11:40am EST): Rush.Com has been re-skinned with new artwork to celebrate the official announcement of the release of Clockwork Angels. The band also posted the following about the forthcoming album:


Rush has unveiled details of its highly anticipated, new album, “CLOCKWORK ANGELS.” This is the first new collection of original material in over five years and their first studio release via Anthem/Roadrunner records. “CLOCKWORK ANGELS,” the band’s 20th studio album, will be released on June 12th.

The recording of “CLOCKWORK ANGELS” began in April 2010 with Grammy Award winning producer Nick Raskulinecz (Foo Fighters, Deftones) – who also collaborated with the band on their last studio album, 2007’s “SNAKES & ARROWS.” Rush co-produced both records. The first two songs, “Caravan” and “BU2B,” were completed during that first session at Nashville’s Blackbird studios and performed nightly during the wildly successful Time Machine Tour, which ran from June 2010 to June 2011. Work on “CLOCKWORK ANGELS” resumed in the fall of 2011 at Revolution Recording in Toronto after the tour’s finale, with additional strings (arranged by David Campbell) recorded at Hollywood’s Ocean Way Studios earlier this year.

Lyrically, “CLOCKWORK ANGELS” chronicles a young man’s quest across a lavish and colorful world of steampunk and alchemy as he attempts to follow his dreams. The story features lost cities, pirates, anarchists, an exotic carnival, and a rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on every aspect of daily life. The novelization of “CLOCKWORK ANGELS” is being written by science fiction writer Kevin J. Anderson in collaboration with Rush drummer and lyricist Neil Peart.

Rush will herald the release of “CLOCKWORK ANGELS” with a new single “Headlong Flight” landing at rock radio on April 19th. Details of a full-scale North American tour to support the new album will be announced shortly. -, April 11, 2012

Billboard Magazine has just posted an official announcement regarding the release (now set for June 2012) of Rush's forthcoming album Clockwork Angels. The announcement includes the complete tracklist for the album (12 songs in all):
1. Caravan
2. BU2B
3. Clockwork Angels
4. The Anarchist
5. Carnies
6. Halo Effect
7. Seven Cities Of Gold
8. The Wreckers
9. Headlong Flight
10. BU2B2
11. Wish Them Well
12. The Garden
There's also a trailer for the album which includes a preview of the first single Headlong Flight:

Finally, according to the announcement, Clockwork Angels will be released on June 12th and not May 29th as originally expected.

Read the entire announcement at this LINK.

You can also now pre-order Clockwork Angels from Amazon.Com once again. The current price is $19.61 which seems to imply that the CD may be packaged with a 5.1 DVD version as well. More news on that potential offering as it becomes available.

Related News Stories
[Headlong Flight Single from Clockwork Angels Release Update - April 4th, 2012]
[Rush Clockwork Angels Album Cover and Tour Book Artwork Revealed? - April 3rd, 2012]
[Clockwork Angels Update - First New Song Title Revealed - Headlong Flight - March 28th, 2012]
[First Single from Clockwork Angels Coming Friday, March 30th? - March 15th, 2012]
[Clockwork Angels Release Date: May 29th, 2012 - March 2nd, 2012]
[Clockwork Angels Due Out in May According to PROG Magazine - February 20th, 2012]
[It's A Wrap: Rush Finish Recording Clockwork Angels - December 20th, 2011]
[New Guitar World Interview with Alex Lifeson - Talks Clockwork Angels - December 13th, 2011]
[New Geddy Lee Interview With Billboard Magazine - Update on Clockwork Angels - December 5th, 2011]
[Geddy Lee Update on Clockwork Angels - October 29th, 2011]
[Clockwork Angels Update from Rush Producer Nick Raskulinecz - September 21st, 2011]


  1. Yee-HA! 12 tracks! BU2B part 2? Can not WAIT!

  2. Just that little clip sounds like 2112 on speed!!

  3. I detect a smidge of Bastille day. Sounds awesome!!

  4. I find this line interesting: "...a rigid Watchmaker who imposes precision on every aspect of daily life."

    I always took that line from the single to be merely an alliteration of Neil's strong anti-religion stance. I wonder if there really is a Watchmaker character in the story, or if that's one journalist's assumption of the album and the book.

  5. Folks, spoke with Roadrunner, and this album will be available on in lossless 96kHz/24-bit FLAC! This is awesome news, people, as you will be able to listen to the new album in true studio master tape quality, not lowly 44.1kHz/24-bit CD-quality audio (to say nothing of *choke* crappy MP3)!

    For those of you not in the know, FLAC is Free Lossless Audio Codec, and it's been around for quite a while. Of the numerous lossless audio codecs out there, which allow you to listen to an original recording in all its finite glory, or rip your existing music collection without losing any details and nuances to compression, FLAC is the most common and most widely distributed among audiophiles. Moving Pictures is also available in 96kHz/24-bit FLAC on

    You will need to register at to download tracks or entire albums. An entire album averages around $20, just be forewarned, but again you are getting STUDIO MASTER TAPE QUALITY! If you are using anything other than a portable music player and earbuds, this is the ONLY way to listen to music short of being there in the studio when it's being mixed and mastered.

    You will either need a computer or laptop connected directly to your audio system in one of two ways: 1) with a high-end dedicated audio card with L/R analog outputs to your preamp or receiver, or 2) with an outboard DAC such as a Pioneer N-50 which can accept audio from a network attached hard drive or directly from your computer via USB or Ethernet. There are lots of other hardware solutions out there, too.

  6. YEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT'S FINALLY COMING!!!!!!!!!! I hate to be one to rush the creative process, but I've been waiting so freakin' impatiently for this thing to be done! Caravan and BU2B weren't enough to satisfy my hunger for Rush. Need more Rush, and by the sound of the audio clip... I'ma gonna like-a this one! XD

  7. I like how the clock stops at track 9 for Headlong Fight at 9 pm! Nice. Reminds me of Hemipsheres Book II sped-up with The Main Monkey Business.

  8. Loving RUSH all the way down here, under, in AUSTRALIA!!! C'mon guys, please tour Aussie Lands... This band will be classically legendary in 1 hundred years from now, in 2112... They got their full Rush-a-tude back on w/ Vapor Trails and have been getting (how can it even be possible) better ever since. Snakes & Arrows w/ some nice acoustical moves offers up a precious sound only these Canucks (& Rask) can deliver. So far, w/ the CD single of the 1st 2 tracks, and currently hearing HEADLONG FLIGHT (7.5 minutes!!!), it's a musical orgasm. I'm also excited about the Kevin J. Anderson related novel. Rush have taking on the steampunk movement perfectly. I need A Windup Clock, June is not getting here fast enough... CHEERS!!! ~Noj Nodnyl


Post a Comment

Share This